Summer Texas Toot!

August 14 & 15, 2021
Sign up now!

Deadline to sign up, 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time the day of each class. Late sign ups will have access to the class recording.

Join AEM ONLINE for the Texas Summer Toot! Online class sessions are offered on Saturday and Sunday, August 14-15, with a social meet-and-greet session on Friday evening Aug 13, and a concert on Sunday, August 16! All classes use the Zoom meeting app, or your web browser.

Directed by: Danny Johnson and Susan Richter
Faculty
Oregon Renaissance Band Trio, Annette Bauer, Frances Blaker, Tish Berlin, Peter Maund, Alison Melville, Christa Patton, Ros Morley, Patricia Ann Neely, John Mark Rozendaal, Mary Springfels, and Nina Stern.
Class recordings are available for students to review for 7 days after the class.

Click here for detailed class descriptions!
Click here to register!

Register for any number of sessions - classes are $25 per session. After you register, you will receive an email with a link to a webpage for each class, where you can access music and any other class materials, along with the Zoom session link (which will be added 24 hours before the class). Workshop pitch is A = 440 unless otherwise noted.
Class sessions are offered using the Zoom meeting app, or your web browser. Class sessions run 90 minutes, with 15 minutes for introductions and last minute tech help, and 75 minutes of class time. New to Zoom? Join us on Friday afternoon, August 13 for a Zoom Tutorial session with Tish Berlin (free!).
Late Afternoon Events: Friday evening Social Hour and Sunday late afternoon Toot Faculty Concert (free!).

Class Schedule
Saturday, August 14
12:00 p.m. Eastern / 11:00 a.m. Central / 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time
The Iberian Harp in 17th c. Spain & the New World with Christa Patton
Josquin 500 with Annette Bauer

2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time
Etudes for Fun and Musical Profit with Alison Melville
The Italianate Englishmen with Patricia Ann Neely

4:00 p.m. Eastern / 3:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time
Welcome Home: A Celebration of 17th Century Music with Playford, Pilkington, Praetorius and more with Oregon Renaissance Band Trio
Medieval Miracles and Songs of Praise: the Cantigas de Santa Maria with Peter Maund

Sunday, August 15
12:00 p.m. Eastern / 11:00 a.m. Central / 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time
Patterns and Shapes: Exploring Melody through Rhythm, Rhythm through Melody with Nina Stern
Simple Gifts: Psalm Settings in the Reformation Ros Morley

2:00 p.m. Eastern / 1:00 p.m. Central / 11:00 a.m. Pacific Time
The Art of Fugue by Johann Sebastian Bach: Two Contrapuncti with Tish Berlin
Half and Half with John Mark Rozendaal

4:00 p.m. Eastern / 3:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time
Music for the Winter Queen with Mary Springfels
Absolute beauty: two renaissance motets that will delight the ear and feed the soul with Frances Blaker

Fees Classes are $25 each.
Late Afternoon Events: Friday evening Social Hour and Sunday late afternoon Toot Faculty Concert are free.

FRIDAY SOCIAL HOUR Meet old friends and make new ones! All students taking classes are invited. Hosted by Toot directors Danny Johnson and Susan Richter.
8:30 p.m. Eastern / 7:30 Central / 5:30 Pacific Time

SUNDAY FACULTY CONCERT! 6:30 p.m. Eastern / 5:30 p.m. Central / 3:30 p.m. Pacific Time (Free!)
All class participants will receive the link to extra events. Not taking classes? Sign up for the Faculty Concert HERE!
Join AEM as we pack our Zoom bags, and travel to Texas!